District superintendent Kevin Harness administers the oath of office to three school board members beginning new terms Jan. 12; pictured are (from left) Vicki Knuckles, Lane Sturman and Mary Kasprzyk.Lane Sturman is the board's newest member.

Allegan seats three school board members

Ryan Lewis, editor

Three school board members took their oath of office for Allegan Public Schools on Monday, Jan. 12.

Incumbents Vickie Knuckles and Mary Cone Kasprzyk, beginning their second terms, were joined by newcomer Lane Sturman.

Knuckles and Sturman both won their seats with write-in campaigns--in a field of six write-ins--earning 226 and 147 votes respectively.

The seats are six-year terms. Dale Wittkop chose not to run for reelection and presided over his final meeting in December as board president.

Kasprzyk is a 1980 graduate of Allegan Public Schools and was elected to the school board in 2009. A mother of three, she is the executive director and founder of Forever Curious Children’s Museum in Fennville and Allegan.

Knuckles graduated from Allegan High School in 1982 and has served on the board since 2009. A mother of four, she is the City of Allegan’s as the Griswold Auditorium coordinator.

Sturman has lived in Allegan since 2001. The father of three works as a project manager for new drug development at Perrigo.


Kaechele Publications, Inc.
241 Hubbard St.
P.O. Box 189
Allegan, MI 49010
Phone: 269-673-5534
Fax: 269-673-5535

Meet the staff

The Union Enterprise
P.O. Box 483
Plainwell, MI 49080

The Commercial Record
3217 Blue Star Hwy.
P.O. Box 246
Saugatuck, MI 49453
269-857-8187 or 269-857-4637

Comment Here