Polls will be open  from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. for the Tuesday, Nov. 6, general election.

Election preview: Nov. 6, 2018, general election

Collected here are our previews of local races and ballot proposals for the Nov. 6, 2018, general election.

Within each race, candidates are presented in alphabetical order.

Polls for the election will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Not sure what's involved with voting? Check out this handy how-to video featuring Allegan County News editor Ryan Lewis and Allegan County Clerk Bob Genetski.

Voters are required to present photo ID at the polls, such as a Michigan driver’s license or identification card.

Those without a photo ID or not carrying one can still vote. To do so, they must sign a brief form stating that they’re not in possession of a photo ID. Their ballots will be included with all others and counted on election day.


State level:

District 26 Michigan Senate

Robert Alway, Green

Erwin Haas, Libertarian

Garnet Lewis, Democrat

Aric Nesbitt, Republican


District 72 Michigan House of Representatives

Ron Draayer, Democrat

Jamie Lewis, Libertarian

Steven Johnson, Republican, incumbent


District 80 Michigan House of Representatives

Mark Ludwig, Democrat

Mary Whiteford, Republican, incumbent


Allegan County:

Candidates for the seven districts of the Allegan County Board of Commissioners were asked to provide a brief profile of themselves.

They were allowed as many as 300 words to describe themselves, their experience and their goals for office.

The profiles list candidates in each district in alphabetical order.

Not sure which district you're in? Consult this handy map.


District 1 Allegan County Board of Commissioners

Christi Allen, Democrat

Dean Kapenga, Republican, incumbent


District 2 Allegan County Board of Commissioners

Jim Storey, Republican

Kenneth Whitcomb, Democrat


District 3 Allegan County Board of Commissioners

Kathryn Bamberg, Democrat

Max Thiele, Republican


District 4 Allegan County Board of Commissioners

D. Mark DeYoung, Republican

Mike Salisbury, Democrat


District 5 Allegan County Board of Commissioners

Don Doggendorf, Democrat

Tom Jessup, Republican


District 6 Allegan County Board of Commissioners

Gale Dugan, Republican

Benjamin Snape, Democrat


District 7 Allegan County Board of Commissioners

Rick Cain, Republican

Rachel Colingsworth, Democrat



Otsego City Commission

Jayson Ennis

Lauri Krueger

Brent Milhiem

Robert Schurman

Stacey Withee


Plainwell City Council

Stephen Bennett

Rick Brooks

Brad Keeler

Roger Keeney


Plainwell Community Schools Board of Education

Julli Bennett

Amy Blades

Chris Keator

David Skinner

Shannon Zabaldo


Saugatuck Township Recall

Clerk: Bradley Rudich, Republican vs. William W. Wester Sr., Democrat

Treasurer: Lori Babinski, Republican vs. Jon Helmrich, Democrat

Trustees: Abby Bigford, Democrat vs. Roy McIlwaine, Republican

Trustee: Stacey Aldrich, Democrat vs. Douglas Lane, Republican


Wayland City Mayor (non-partisan)

Tim Bala

Brian Sweebe


Don’t see your local community? Check out our roundup up of all the other races and ballot proposals. The story at that link includes information about all of the following:

Ballot proposals:

Cheshire Township

City of Fennville

Martin Township

Otsego Township



Probate Judge Michael Buck

Circuit Judge Roberts Kengis

District Judge William Baillargeon

Myrene Kay Koch, Allegan County Prosecuting Attorney


Allegan District Library

City of the Village of Douglas Council


Village of Hopkins

Manlius Township

Martin Township

Village of Martin

Salem Township

Valley Township

Wayland Township


School boards:










Allegan County News
241 Hubbard St.
P.O. Box 189
Allegan, MI 49010
Phone: 269-673-5534
Fax: 269-673-5535

Meet the staff

The Commercial Record
415 Wiley Rd, Suite 105
Douglas, MI 49406

P.O. Box 246
Sauagtuck, MI 49453
Phone: 267-857-2570
Fax: 269-857-4637

The Union Enterprise
P.O. Box 483
Plainwell, MI 49080

AlleganNews is part of Wilcox Newspapers
Copyright 2020, Wilcox Newspapers

Comment Here