Candidates file for August primary election

By Daniel Pepper Staff Writer

Candidates had until Tuesday, April 22, to file to run for local and state offices in the August primary.

Winners of the partisan races will run again in November. 

The contested races include:


80th District State Representative

Republicans Randy Brink of Saugatuck Township, Cindy Gamrat of Plainwell, Stephen A. Schulz of Allegan Township and Mary Whiteford of Casco Township will be on the ballot. Democrat Geoff Parker of Otsego will be unopposed.

The district includes all of Allegan County, with the exception of Wayland, Dorr and Leighton townships and the City of Wayland.

Incumbent Bob Genetski, R-Saugatuck, is term-limited.


Allegan County commission District 6

Republican incumbent Jon C. Campbell of Otsego is being challenged by Republican Bill Sage of Trowbridge Township.

The district includes the City of Otsego and Hopkins, Otsego, Trowbridge and Watson townships.


6th Congressional District

Incumbent Republican Fred Upton of Saint Joseph is being challenged by Jim Bussler of Dowagiac. Kalamazoo Democrat Paul Clements is running unopposed.


72nd District State Representative

Incumbent Ken Yonker of Caledonia is being challenged by Gabe Hudson of Byron Center in the Republican primary. Democrat Kemal Hamulic of Kentwood is running unopposed.

The Allegan County portion of the district includes Dorr, Wayland and Leighton townships, as well as the City of Wayland.


Uncontested races:

On the county commission, all the other six incumbent Republicans have filed for reelection and are running unopposed.

The are, Dean Kapenga of Heath Township, Jim Storey of Holland, Max R. Thiele of Allegan, D. Mark DeYoung of Dorr Township, Tom Jessup of Casco Township and Don Black of Wayland Township.


26th State Senate District

Incumbent Republican Tonya Schuitmaker of Lawton and Democrat Jim Walters of Lawton are running unopposed.

The district includes all of Allegan and Van Buren counties, along with Gaines Township and the City of Kentwood in Kent County.

Kaechele Publications, Inc.
241 Hubbard St.
P.O. Box 189
Allegan, MI 49010
Phone: 269-673-5534
Fax: 269-673-5535

Meet the staff

The Union Enterprise
P.O. Box 483
Plainwell, MI 49080

The Commercial Record
3217 Blue Star Hwy.
P.O. Box 246
Saugatuck, MI 49453
269-857-8187 or 269-857-4637

Comment Here