Candidates file for four city council races

The November election will feature city council elections in four cities in Allegan County. The following people had filed by the Tuesday, July 22, deadline.

City of the Village of Douglas has four two-year terms available. Incumbents William H. Japinga, Eric W. Smith and James I. Wiley all filed to run along with newcomer Neal Seabert.

The City of Plainwell has three four-year terms available. Incumbents Richard Brooks, Brad Keeler and Roger D. Keeney are joined in the race by Jeffrey Lyons and Chris Slinkman.

City of Saugatuck has four two-year terms available. John Porzondek and Kenneth G. Trester joined incumbents Mark Bekken, Barry E. Johnson and Jane Verplank in the race.

The City of Wayland has three two-year council seats and the position of mayor up for election. Current Mayor Tim Bala filed to run for reelection while incumbent Tim Rose and newcomer Ron Kobish filed for council seats.


Kaechele Publications, Inc.
241 Hubbard St.
P.O. Box 189
Allegan, MI 49010
Phone: 269-673-5534
Fax: 269-673-5535

Meet the staff

The Union Enterprise
P.O. Box 483
Plainwell, MI 49080

The Commercial Record
3217 Blue Star Hwy.
P.O. Box 246
Saugatuck, MI 49453
269-857-8187 or 269-857-4637

Comment Here