Allegan: 5k Training

Date: 
Wednesday, June 11, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, June 25, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, July 2, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, July 9, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, July 23, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, July 30, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, August 6, 2014 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 - 5:00pm

Allegan General Hospital is offering a training program to help individuals prepare for its upcoming Strides for Health 5K walk/run on Saturday, Aug. 16. The program is designed for all levels of walkers and runners with the goal of helping individuals reach their 5k goal.

The training program will last 10 weeks. Once a week, there will be a group walk/run to help to inspire and motivate participants throughout the program. Individuals will also have the opportunity to attend informational meetings on nutrition, footwear, strength training and conditioning for runners and walkers. Additionally, participants will receive a training schedule to guide them through the process of self-training in preparation for the race.
 
The training will kickoff with an informational session on Friday, June 6, at 5:30 p.m. in the hospital’s Michigan Room, located on the lower level. Group walks and runs will begin on Wednesday, June 11, at 6 p.m. and will continue on a weekly basis until the Strides for Health 5K.
 
The cost for participating in the training is $10.  However, individuals who complete 70 percent of the group walks or runs and take part in Strides for Health 5K will receive their $10 back on race day.
 
For more information, call Alicia Tock at (269) 686-4065.
 

 

Kaechele Publications, Inc.
231 Trowbridge St.
P.O. Box 189
Allegan, MI 49010
Phone: 269-673-5534
Fax: 269-673-5535

Meet the staff

The Union Enterprise
P.O. Box 417
Plainwell, MI 49080
269-685-9571

The Commercial Record
3217 Blue Star Hwy.
P.O. Box 246
Saugatuck, MI 49453
269-857-8187 or 269-857-4637